The release of the fifth album from UK artist Simon Green (a.k.a. Bonobo), The North Borders, launched a number of extensive tours for the producer and his traveling ensemble throughout 2013, and that busy year will soon be capped off with a brand-new mix album for the longstanding Late Night Tales series. Green’s 21-track set will mark the 33rd installment of Late Night Tales when it drops on November 17, and features a wide range of sounds and styles from the likes of Floating Points, Lapalux, Nina Simone, Shlohmo, Airhead, Dorando, and Bonobo himself, among others. Speaking on his mix, the curator said, “The way I approached this mix was very different to how I would normally do a mix. I wasn’t thinking of it as a DJ mix so much as a selection… The criteria for choosing the songs was really music I’ve been playing at my house over the past 15-20 years.” Well before it’s released next month, Late Night Tales: Bonobo‘s tracklist, video trailer, and SoundCloud preview can all be found below.


01. Dustin O’Halloran – An Ending, A Beginning
02. Khruang Bin – A Calf is Born in Winter
03. Bonobo – Get Thy Bearings (Exclusive Donovan cover version)
04. Dorando – Didn’t I
05. Nina Simone – Baltimore
06. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Flipside
07. Menahan Street Band – The Traitor
08. Andrew Ashong – Flowers
09. Romare -Down The Line
10 Shlohmo – Places
11 Lapalux – Gutter Glitter
12 The Invisible – Wing (Floating Points mix)
13 Badbadnotgood – Hedron
14 Matthew Bourne – IIV. Juliet
15 Airhead – South Congress
16 Matthew Halsall – Sailing Out To Sea
17 Dorothy Ashby – Essence of Sapphire
18 Peter and Kerry – One Thing
19 Eddi Front – Gigantic
20 Bill Evans – Peace Piece

21 Benedict Cumberbatch – Flat Of Angles Part 3 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)

Words: James Eaton


YouTube Late Night Tales: Bonobo video

Soundcloud Late Night Tales: Bonobo